Welcome to Eureka Street

back to site

Eureka Street writers awards winners

Eureka Street/Reader's Feast Award button




The Eureka Street/Reader's Feast Award was announced today in conjunction with Eureka Street's other annual ethical essay-writing award, the Margaret Dooley Award, offered to writers aged under 30.

Eureka Street, an online journal published by the Australian Jesuits, provides reflection and commentary on politics, culture and current events from a social justice and human rights perspective.

In light of the journal's 20th anniversary in 2011, entrants to this year's Eureka Street/Reader's Feast Award were asked to project 20 years into the future, and submit a piece of speculative fiction or non-fiction portraying 'Australia 2031', with a particular emphasis on human rights and social justice issues.

The winners are:

Margaret Dooley Award 

Patrick McCabe
Patrick McCabe studies Law and Arts at the University of Adelaide. He has previously written and subedited for On Dit, Adelaide University's student newspaper.

Eureka Street/Reader's Feast Award

Lea McInerney
After early careers in palliative care nursing and social policy, Lea McInerney now works as a freelance facilitator and writer. She recently completed a diploma in professional writing at RMIT.

'It is an honour to once again partner with Reader's Feast Bookstore on this unique award, which for the past four years has sought to encourage excellence, imagination and depth of reflection in ethical essay writing in Australia,' said Tim Kroenert, Assistant Editor of Eureka Street.

'We thank Reader's Feast General Manager Mary Dalmau for her generosity and vision in offering this annual $5000 award, and look forward to partnering with her again next year.'

Dalmau congratulates the winners of these awards and is delighted once again to work with Eureka Street on this important addition to the literary awards calendar of Australia. 'The award will be awarded in 2012 as part of the biennial Crime & Justice Festival,' said Dalmau.

The winning, placing and highly commended essays from both the Eureka Street/Reader's Feast Award and the Margaret Dooley Award will appear weekly in Eureka Street, beginning with Lea McInerney's essay on Wednesday 20 July.

Eureka Street/Reader's Feast Award

Lea McInerney

Highly commended:
Meg Mundell
Julie McNeill
Selma Sergent

Margaret Dooley Award for Young Writers:

First Place:
Patrick McCabe

Second Place:
Sarah Burnside

Third Place:
Nadine Rabah

Highly Commended:
Jessica Voelker

Margaret Dooley Award


Topic tags: Eureka Street.Reader's Feast, Margaret Dooley, Lea McInerney, Patrick McCabe, Mary Dalmau, Australia 2031



submit a comment

Similar Articles

The mingled yarn

  • Bronwyn Lay
  • 20 July 2010

My granddad was a fourth generation white Australian who worked with sheep. I used to tell the story that he was a small town racist who disliked Blacks, Catholics and Jews. The punch line was that his daughter married a Fijian, his son married a Jew and my dad married a Catholic.


Eureka Street/Reader's Feast Award 2010: Australia - a racist country?

  • Staff
  • 21 February 2010